You can now find us at  |  

Who gets your vote for “Player of the Year”?

14th April 2016
This week the PFA announced a six man shortlist for their “Player of the Year” award, well we knew it wouldn’t be last year’s winner Mr E Hazard who quite frankly has been a disaster, but what a cracking collection they have to choose from:

Harry Kane
N’Golo Kante
Riyad Mahrez
Mesut Ozil
Dimitri Payet
Jamie Vardy

Of course the votes are from members of the Professional Footballers Association and the votes were cast some time ago, which always means that a late runner, in terms of form, is unlikely to win.

The voters cannot vote for someone at their own club so it will be interesting to see if the Leicester trio of Kante, Mahrez and Vardy fill the top 3 positions!

It’s been the most exciting and surprising Premier League in its history and surely it must be presented to a Leicester player?

For what it’s worth, here’s my take. Ozil was tremendous in the first half of the season and assisted in many spectacular goals. Payet has been a revelation and his free kicks are now legendary. Harry Kane is now England’s main man up front but he had a slowish start to the season, which leaves the Leicester trio.

Riyad Mahrez is a genius and the bookies favourite, but I would have him third behind the incredible N’Golo Kante who amazes me every time I watch him in terms of his energy, attitude and incredible ability to win the ball. But my vote goes to Jamie Vardy who has become an overnight sensation at the age of 29! He typifies the work rate and team ethic that have taken Leicester to within touching distance of the title.

Who gets your vote?
« Back to Woody's Words
comments powered by Disqus